Oi.

Sunday night. 10:13 pm. I have not finished my homework for Revision Class tomorrow.

But at least I’ve turned off the TV.

Found a new blog over the weekend: Query Shark. It’s OMG amazing. Part of me wants to get to work right away so I can have a finished ms to query the shark about and be one of the two (three?) she’s approved first time out and asks for pages IMMEDIATELY.

Delusions of granduer much?

But the part of me that’s been sitting around watching the remainder of NCIS season 3 all day (but folding laundry – I’ve had some productivity here!) and dropping in season 2 from the start for giggles is terrified to finish what I’ve started because… what if it’s never good enough?

Oh well. I paid good, cash money for this class and so far SO worth it. Looks like I’m up late tonight cramming for class tomorrow.

And here I thought I’d left jr high, high school, and college behind.

Oi.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Linda Andrus on January 26, 2010 at 4:50 am

    I clicked on your link on Jenny’s arghink.com site, and here I am. I hope you don’t mind if I ask you a question. You recommended Blake Snyder’s SAVE THE CAT! book, and I ordered his last one, SAVE THE CAT! STRIKES BACK More Trouble for Screenwriters to Get into … and Ouf Of. But I felt the 15 beats and the 40 scene cards needed more explanation. I feel like I missed something there. Was the first book, SAVE THE CAT! more in-depth? I write novels, not screenplays, but love what he was getting at!

    I didn’t know about Snyder until you mentioned him and was sorry to learn of his death.

    Thanks

  2. Posted by Bonnie on January 27, 2010 at 9:42 am

    Hey there! I don’t mind that question at all. PLEASE run, don’t walk, and get thee to a place of purchase and pick up the original book. Especially if you’ve already got one of the sequels. I promise everything will make much more sense that way! I also write novels and while the books are geared very specifically to screenplays, the important stuff – the story bits – translate into every type of storytelling.

    Hope that helps and good luck!

  3. Posted by Linda Andrus on January 27, 2010 at 10:23 am

    Thank you! I just ordered a copy of the first book and can’t wait for it to get here.

  4. Posted by Bonnie on January 27, 2010 at 10:56 am

    No worries. Let me know what you think when you get it. 🙂

  5. Posted by Linda Andrus on February 18, 2010 at 5:12 am

    Just wanted to get back to you on my opinion of SAVE THE CAT! Book 1. It is great, and I’m so glad I read the post where you mentioned in. It’s pretty mind-blowing, and I’ve been studying it ever since. So thanks again! I loved Sy Field’s THE WRITER’S WORKSHOP, but this is even better. 🙂

  6. Posted by Linda Andrus on February 18, 2010 at 5:13 am

    Pardon my mispellings there! And it’s Syd Field……

  7. Posted by Bonnie on February 18, 2010 at 6:37 am

    YAY! I’m so glad you like STC. It’s really an awesome way to look at structure. You’re going to find yourself now watching movies or TV or reading a book and thinking, “Hmmm, this is totally Dude With A Problem.” 😀

    If you haven’t found it yet, here is Blake’s blog: http://www.blakesnyder.com/

    I’ve heard Field’s book is wonderful, but I haven’t had a chance to check it out yet.

Leave a Reply

