Wile E. Coyote for the Win!

Hi there.

Wow. It’s been… a long time since last I last indulged in narcissism. Publicly, at any rate. If you’ll indulge me, I’ll begin this reentry into the blogosphere with a metaphor: Wile E. Coyote = my (attempted) writing career.

Wile E Coyote, Super Genius

Wile E. spends his days hungry and the only thing he wants a taste of is that damn Roadrunner. He devises ingenious schemes of ever escalating peril (to himself) in the hopes of one day catching that !@#$%&!@ bird. He very often finds himself so singlemindedly focused on his goal that he will race off the edge of a cliff and not notice until the Roadrunner (helpfully) directs Wile E.’s attention to the reality of his situation, forcing him to look down and find only several thousand feet of thin air between him and certain doom.

Many days, I feel akin to the broken Coyote.

And yet he has something that I seem to lack – determination. Wile E. Coyote always gets back up, dusts off and speed dials ACME. When I hit the bottom of my metaphorical canyon I tend to crawl my broken body to the nearest couch and park in front of the TV to convalesce. Oh sure, I call it “research”, thinking to absorb storytelling through osmosis. But we all know it for what it is: PROCRASTINATION.

I don’t generally do New Year’s resolutions because, well frankly, I can never stick to them (see above). So for 2010 I’m trying goals instead. Yeah, yeah. You’ve all seen the glory of my previous goals go down in flames (how many years now have I insisted I will have a manuscript to submit to the RWA Golden Heart contest? 2? 3? It’s embarrassing, really). But this one is at once more concrete and nebulous.

Be the Coyote.

And I’ve already started. I spun the ACME Wheel of Fortune and landed on the Revisions workshop taught by Lani Diane Rich. I plan to dust off Tucker, hoping against all hope it isn’t a dead horse I’m about to beat into jelly. Time and again I always end up back at this story so there has to be something there… right? With any luck the next six weeks will help me determine Tucker’s actual worth. Wish me luck.

Oh and if you see the Roadrunner, run that thing down with your car, m’kay? Thx!

Leave a Reply

