Blake Snyder 1957-2009

Blake Snyder’s website has announced the Blake passed away this morning  Tuesday August 4th from cardiac arrest pulimary embolism.

I can’t really even begin to process this news. I just stopped by his blog literally after writing the previous post to insert the link… I am stunned.

I had the good fortune to take his 2 day workshop this last March. I learned SO much, from both Blake and my fellow students. One of the most prominent things I took from the experience was that writing isn’t rocket science, but you do have to LOVE what you’re doing or it won’t quite work. Watching Blake for those two days, I can tell you truly no one loved their job more than he did. It was, and still is, inspiring to me.

My heart goes out to his family and friends. If I am feeling the loss of him after only being a fan of his books and spending sixteen hours with him, I can only imagine what they are going through.

Blake will be sorely missed.

ETA: I’m sorry, it was just pointed out to me that Blake passed on August 4th, not today.

Leave a Reply

