WIP: A New Day

It’s a new(ish) day (10:30 am), a new month (August 1), a new year (my birthday).

When my hubbin asked me what I wanted for my birthday this year I promptly responded, “A weekend of solitude.”

(Infodump Insert: every year I take a weekend or two [more if I can swing it] where I hie off to a hotel armed with a box of wine, bag of pretzels, and a stack of romance novels and sit on my ass doing NOTHING for two days. I highly recommend it.)

So here I am, in my hotel. But this year I have plans to actually do SOMETHING. I am going to finish the bones draft of my current WIP if it kills me. So why am I writing a blog post? Well, I could say as a warm up exercise (not untrue) but mostly to get publicly reacquainted with my WIP since I’ve ruthlessly ignored the poor thing for several weeks. So hang around and watch me gather my thoughts; if nothing else it should be good for a laugh.

Bones Draft. WTH is that? Well, Jenny Crusie refers to her first drafts as “don’t look down”– as in “get your ass across the rickety rope bridge it doesn’t have to be pretty you just need to get to the other side and if you look down you’ll fall to your death and likely won’t get back up and finish”. Or at least that’s my interpretation of what she’s explained in countless workshops and blog posts. Being that Ms. Cruise is an incredibly talented and successful author and I wouldn’t mind growing up to be her, as a good little fangirl I adopted the tag “DLD” for my first drafts. (The next one is the “truck draft” as in “if I get hit by a truck the MS is in good enough shape that it can go to print posthumously”. What isn’t to love about this woman?? I’ve never actually made it to my own “truck draft” which is the point for this whole weekend… but again I digress. SQUIRREL!) Unfortunately, “DLD” just felt like I was wearing someone else’s clothes.

Remember when I took the Blake Snyder Save the Cat! screenwriting workshop? And I decided to be a screenwriter? (SQUIRREL!) I discovered the screenplay layout is actually the perfect first draft layout (for me). See, it’s all about dialogue and brief directions and even briefer description. A screenplay assumes (quite rightly) that there will be a whole army of production guys and gals to realize the environment, so the writer doesn’t have to bother with anything more than the barest world establishment (in most cases). See I get stuck on the whole word craft and never make it to just blocking out the damn thing before going back in to dress it up…

So I’ve been working this particular WIP as a pseudo-screenplay for the bones draft. When that’s complete, I’ll go back for the “flesh draft”, get it? “Flesh and bones”. 😀 C’mon… it’s funny! Especially since this WIP is a vampire story…

See? This may seem like a lot of ramble, but this whole time I’ve been getting used to the keyboard of my new net book, slurping life giving coffee, and most importantly staring at my collage/mood board while listening to the playlist I made for this WIP. It’s actually helping quite a bit.

Want a peek at what’s in my head? Cool! The WIP is a paranormal romance, vampire flavor.

Logline:

A vampire hunter is charged with protecting a vampire from her own kind… and herself.

The Cast:

The Hero

The Hero

The Heroine

The Heroine

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m breaking some serious romance rules here because this story is ultimately the Hero’s. Sure, it’ll be written third person with POV from both Hero and Heroine… but the story begins and ends with the Hero’s arc. Hopefully this won’t bite me in the ass.

The Villain

The Villain

The Villain's Henchman

The Villain's Henchman

The Chaotic Nuetral Patriarch

The Chaotic Nuetral Patriarch

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’m sure these faces are recognizable to you. I tend to “cast” my characters with real people; actors are (obviously) the easiest. It helps me to focus more on who they are when I have a ready picture in my head… or on my bulletin board. A lot of writers pick images for their collages/mood boards the evoke feelings or mood rather than literal translation. I prefer the literal.

The Setting:

misc7

pretty...

LosAngeles4

LA

 

 

 

 

 

Alternate Near Future Los Angeles (I pulled these images off the web and I don’t have any credits for the photographers [Sorry!]. I desperately want a HUGE print of the red palm trees… I cannot express my love for it enough…)

Obviously, I’m not breaking any new ground here; vampires, near future LA, the stereotyped cast. But old ground can be reworked into fresh landscape. At its core this story is starcrossed lovers – Romeo & Juliet. But without the double suicide.

The Playlist:

Hey Pretty (Haunted – Poe)

Only Time (Pretty Hate Machine – Nine Inch Nails)

Cover Me (Born in the USA – Bruce Springsteen)

So Alive (Love and Rockets – Love and Rockets)

Soak Up The Sun (C’Mon C’Mon – Sheryl Crow)

Love Song for a Vampire (The Annie Lennox Collection – Annie Lennox)

(I Just) Died in Your Arms (Broadcast – Cutting Crew)

Relax Max (Swingin’ Miss D – Dinah Washington)

Need You Tonight (INXS: The Greatest Hits – INXS)

Promise (Horrorscope – Eve 6)

The Bad Touch (Hooray For Boobies – The Bloodhound Gang)

Devil Inside (INXS: The Greatest Hits – INXS)

Baby Did A Bad Bad Thing (Forever Blue – Chris Isaak)

In Demand (Texas: The Greatest Hits – Texas)

Sin (Pretty Hate Machine – Nine Inch Nails)

Hey Pretty (Bonus Track) (Haunted – Poe)

The playlist is liquid – it keeps changing. Mostly by adding. In fact, it occurs to me I need to hunt down my version of “Kiss” by Tom Jones and slip it in… Anyhoo. My personal musical range isn’t as broad as I would like it to be. I have a thing for listening to the same stuff over and over. I would go insane without Chris Isaak, Annie Lennox, Nine Inch Nails, and Eve 6. But then again, whoever said I was sane to begin with…

There you have it. The basics of my WIP. I’m about halfway through the bones draft. I’m hoping to complete that today and start the flesh draft tomorrow. Wish me luck. I’m going to need it.

Leave a Reply

