wip: new directions

savethecatThis past weekend was my Save the Cat! workshop with Blake Snyder.

Wow. Totally worth the price of admission.

I’ve attended more than my fair share of writer’s workshops and I have to say this format (and this particular group) is light-years ahead of anything else out there.

Blake began by having everyone do the standard “Hi, my name is Bob…” routine and I was immediately worried because an alarming number of people were already solidly in the industry with scripts sold and/or in consideration. Pretty daunting company for me, a movie lover taking a stab at writing a screenplay on little more than a whim.

Anyhoo. Around the table we went and pitched out the old “I have a story about a guy who…” Wow. Everything from a legal thriller to a SciFi Channel Saturday matinee. Really fun ideas that morphed by Sunday night into fully fleshed concepts. And our little idea got an excellent reception, too.

YAY!

But, the biggest feedback we got was that our location was ALL wrong. Location, location, location. So it took a little convincing and a lot of work to make sure that coincidence wasn’t running rampant in our ‘burb, but JB is now with me and we’re full steam ahead. And even in these early stages, it’s already an hundred times better. I swear if I didn’t have a day job (which I’m running late for right now…) I think we’d have this screenplay drafted by week’s end.

Ah well. Life and all that junk.

So it won’t be this week, but very soon I hope to be able to say in earnest, “Coming soon to a theatre near you.”

Leave a Reply

