word of the day: circumlocution

circumlocution\sir-kuhm-loh-KYOO-shuhn\, noun:

The use of many words to express an idea that might be expressed by few; indirect or roundabout language.

I am struggling with this right now as I 8/8 trample through my first draft trying to tightening it down and make it not suck total ass. I have a tendency to do one of two things:

a) Write a lot of really short sentences. And I mean a lot. Like Hemingway. And I hate Hemingway.

b) Write really, long intricate sentences that go on and on and on for several lines, with commas, lots and lots of commas, that probably shouldn’t be used because a semicolon would be appropriate in several spots but in my head I hear it as commas, so commas for all my men!

You see my problem.

So now, while I rewrite the front half of the book (it is already sooo much better) I am trying to keep in mind that I need a consistent and not suck-ass writing style.

Sigh.

Head down. Keep moving forward. Trample!

Leave a Reply

