no rest for the wicked…

… but maybe a little nap.

For Mother’s Day my luvin’ hubbin wrangled our progeny downstairs and let me sleep until noon. It would have been blissful if I hadn’t been plagued by anxiety dreams that kept telling me I really needed to be awake because there was something I was missing. Oi.

So the reasons I get no writing done on the weekends are named Evie (3 1/2) and John (1 1/2). Sometimes Dan (33). The man and I both work full time and he commutes 150 miles round trip every day. Our mothers are both saving us $800 a month in daycare for the boy so our day starts at 5 a.m. and we don’t get home until 8:30 p.m. on average. It’s even more brutal than it sounds. It also means weekends are for cleaning and laundry and remembering we’re a family.

Luckily I landed myself a nice mellow job where I can sit in my car and read at lunch and actual get some writing in during the latter parts of the week. Mental health breaks. Very exciting stuff.

So today is my busy day at said day job. No writing. Hopefully tomorrow, but more likely Wednesday.

Like the turtle – slow and steady wins the race.

Leave a Reply

